Banana-Walnut Pudding

The first time I made banana pudding from real bananas, I was in a canvassing program, selling vegetarian cook books and Christian literature near the border of Texas and Arkansas. Breakfast was provided every day, and lunch on Fridays and Sabbath, but we had to fix our own lunch during the work days. For a short while, I had a partner, but my cooking was not very good and I was pretty insistent on what we should eat. I lost her, probably because of my selfishness and overconfidence in my own skills.

I eat bananas often, especially when getting a lot of exercise (such as I did in the canvassing programs, from all the walking), as they are delicious and especially because they help against cramps. I had a bunch of bananas that had ripened so much that they fell off of the stems when I went to pick them up, but that level of ripeness was just the right sweetness for a delicious treat. To this day, after other banana-pudding experiments, I’m not even sure that cooking nor that cornstarch is needed. You can try mashing up raw extra-ripe (but not rotten) bananas and adding some walnuts. I’m sure it will be delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 6-7 extra ripe (but not rotten) bananas, peeled and mashed
  • 13.5 oz can (or equivalent measurement) of coconut milk
  • 1/3 cup crushed walnuts
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp cornstarch

To Make:

  1. Mix bananas and coconut milk together. Alt: You can mash the bananas together with the coconut milk, or even blend them together. Save a little coconut milk (or at least the watery part) to make a roux.
  2. Bring the bananas and coconut milk to a boil.
  3. Using a fork, mix cornstarch into the cold coconut milk. Mix well.
  4. Gradually mix the roux into the boiling bananas while stirring.
  5. Boil, stirring frequently (if not constantly) for a few minutes (5-10).
  6. Remove from the heat and mix in the nuts.
  7. Chill in the refrigerator for 6 hours or overnight.

recommended tool for stirring: whisk

*Approved for breakfast or for supper. 

 

Categories: puddings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

