Sweet Carrots

It was over ten years ago when I first went to a Japanese hibachi, and the only time I went there to dine with my mother. I remember the chef squirting something onto the grill and then tossing on the carrots. When I bit into them, they were so sweet it was almost like warm candy. I loved them, and Japanese hibachi became my favorite. Since then, I’ve learned how to make sweet, honey carrots. It’s not the same as boiled carrots with honey. This is much better. I’ve also added spices, raisins, and apples to the cooking process, too. It’s so delicious (with the apples and raisins) that it’s like a dessert.


Ingredients:

  • about 1 lb  carrots
  • about 1/2 cup honey
  • (optional) about 1/4 cup of raisins
  • (optional) 1-2 apples, peeled and sliced
  • (optional) a pinch or two of cardamom (I used to use cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg, but don’t recommend any of those anymore, as they can be harmful. I don’t know about cardamom being harmful, but please show me if it is.)

To Make:

  1. Was, peel, and slice the carrots.
  2. Melt the honey in a large frying pan over medium heat.
  3. When the honey is hot, add the carrots.
  4. Stirring frequently, cook over medium (or if medium is to high, you can lower the heat) for about 5 minutes, after which you can add the apples and/or raisins and more honey.
  5. Stir. Cover. Cook for about 5-10 more minutes or until carrots and apples are soft. Stir frequently and reduce heat if carrots are burning.
  6. Stir again.
  7. (optional) Add cardamom.
  8. Cover the pan with a lid.
  9. Stirring occasionally, let cook for around 5-10 minutes or until carrots reach desired texture (you can have them al-dente or soft.
  10. Mix/stir thoroughly.
  11. Let cook, uncovered, for 2-5 more minutes.

I took this to potluck and it was a hit.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

