Baked Tortilla Chips

I’m not a big fan of corn tortillas. I like taco shells and tortilla chips, but corn tortillas are just too dry and yet too floppy and too easily broken, and they just have this kind of raw taste to them that I don’t care for. I like them when they’re toasted a bit more, dipped into beans with fresh salsa or hot sauce, and vegan cheese and vegan sour cream, but I still prefer tortilla chips or corn chips. My friends also fry them in a frying pan and add tomato sauce, and served with black beans and scrambled tofu, they’re pretty tasty. Other than that, I just kind of tolerate them. As we were packing up to head for home after a scholarship project, two of my friends gave me some leftover corn tortillas, and they were going to expire in two days…

So, I brought them home, not entirely sure what I was going to do with them. A few days later, at or past the expiration date, they were still in the fridge and I knew I had to use them up. I hadn’t been sure what to do with them, but the idea of making tortilla chips was appealing.

So, I got to work. I regret to say that I didn’t use all of them. There were just so many. I opened the two bags and put the stacks of tortillas on a cutting board, and got to work…

IMAG0091

Ingredients You’ll Need:

  • corn tortillas
  • oil
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • salt
  • (Optional) other herbs/spices-garlic powder, red pepper flakes, lemon/lime juice (sprayed)

How You Make It:

  • Place the tortillas in stacks on a cutting board. You don’t need to cut them individually. It’s faster just to cut them in stacks.
  • Cut them like you would cut a pizza. I think I cut them into 8s. I also used a knife. I don’t recommend a pizza cutter, unless you have a super thin stack.
  • In a mixing bowl of an appropriate size, pour in oil and add seasonings (enough to taste). Mix well. I recommend using a whisk.
  • Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  • Get out enough cookie sheets. You may be standing at the oven for a while. If you have a lot of tortillas. I did not have many, but I had many chips to cook.
  • If you don’t have a lot of tortillas, or if you like them really greasy and/or crunchy, you can dip them into the oil and put them on the cookie sheet, one at a time. Try not to layer them completely on top of each other. You can kind of lay some slightly on top of each other, but they need “room to breathe” so that they can cook well. I don’t recommend putting more than two layers together. I really recommend one layer. They can be close to each other, just not right on top of each other more than a little bit.
  • Watch the first cookie sheet or two to see how long they’ll take to get as crunchy as you desire them. Don’t let them burn. They don’t taste very good. They should get hard and maybe a little brown.
  • If you have too many tortillas and not enough oil, you can just spread a thin layer of the seasoned oil on the cookie sheet. The tortillas will probably turn out healthier too, and they’ll still get crunchy as you bake them.
  • I think they take about 10-15 minutes to bake, but I’m not sure. I burned a lot of them. I had a lot of delicious ones too though.

These will keep a little while on the counter. I’m not sure for how long. I ate them up within a few days. You can put them in a large bag, the kind that zips. That’s what I did with them. That way you can lock in air, too.

It’s a lot of effort, time, oil, and electricity, so I don’t recommend doing this unless you’re using leftover tortillas that you don’t know what else to do with, and you really want corn chips. If not, you can just fry them in tomato sauce, find something else to do with them, or throw them away.  They taste really yummy though (except the really burned ones). They can burn at brown, too, so try not to let them get too dark.

A little warning, they’ll probably be either harder or chewier than your average corn chip or tortilla chip, but I did enjoy the flavor, and the crunch was nice too.

 

Categories: crackers and chips | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

