Make Sticky Rice with Instant/Parboiled Rice

While I don’t care for sushi, I like to make rice balls out of sticky rice. Normally, I just salt them, but once I made them with dill seed, too, and another time made them sweet with peanut butter and honey. Before, when I made my own, I used sticky rice that came pre-cooked, which I found in the refrigerator section at WalMart. I also used to pack leftover sticky rice from Chinese restaurants in bento lunches when I worked at a fast food restaurant. I liked to eat them with pickled beets, other pickled vegetables, and an omelet/rolled egg back then.

Although I recommend using real sticky rice (like sushi rice, jasmine rice, or other rice that hasn’t had the starch cooked out of it), all I have to work with here (right now) is Minute rice, the kind that’s been precooked. I wondered if it was possible to get that to stick together. I had tried in the past, but I don’t remember being very successful, although I remember it sticking together a little after it had cooled. I did some research on google, and found opposing views. Some say it’s not possible, but one site explained that the reason why Minute rice doesn’t work is because the starch has been cooked out, and so the starch needs to be added back in.

Again, I don’t recommend using Minute rice, but if it’s all you have access to at the time that you want to make sticky rice, or if it’s all you can afford (assuming that it’s cheaper than the other available rice), at least you know that it really is possible to use it to make sticky rice, and it only takes a few minutes, too.

10-21-13 Onigiri SizedSo…I added starch back into the rice, and was able to make onigiri with the sticky rice that resulted. A couple weeks ago, a friend from church came over to visit.  She brought some egg replacer for me, since I had told her about my baking experiments lately.  The main ingredient in egg replacer is potato starch. I’m sure even just potato starch would work, and other starches may work, too, but I am not sure how much you would need of those.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups minute, parboiled, or other instant rice
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/8-1/6 cup egg replacer

To Make:

  1. In a medium sauce pan, bring water to a boil.
  2. Rinse rice until the water runs clear.
  3. Add rice to water, even if it hasn’t started boiling yet.
  4. Once water has begun to boil, and rice is added, reduce heat to medium.
  5. Whisk in, thoroughly, the egg replacer, a little at a time.
  6. Try to avoid clumps of starch. If you see clumps of starch, do your best to whisk those into the water. If necessary, you can remove them, but if you find yourself removing too many, you may want to add a little more egg replacer to the pan.
  7. The rice should cook for about 3-5 minutes while you are doing this, stirring frequently. If it hasn’t been 3-5 minutes, give it a couple/few more minutes.
  8. Remove from heat, turn off stove top, and cover with a lid until all water is absorbed.
  9. Use while warm. The starch may make the sticky rice a little slimy.
  10. Cool before eating. Cooling seemed to reduce the slimy effect.

 

Categories: How-To | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Make Sticky Rice with Instant/Parboiled Rice

  1. Pingback: Onigiri – GF, SF | Vegetarians Have All the Fun!

  2. Pingback: Rice Cake with Cheese Frosting | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

