Green Lo Mein

I made this once in my first winter canvassing program. It was delicious, and kept in the fridge all week (I ate it for lunch all week). I wrote down the recipe not long after making it.

If you can’t afford or can’t find chow mein noodles or mung bean threads, you can also use rice noodles or spaghetti noodles, but it wouldn’t be the same. If you want a rainbow or more colorful lo mein, you could also use more colorful ingredients like purple cabbage and red or yellow bell peppers. I used the most affordable ingredients for this lo mein.

Ingredients:

  • 1 16 oz package (or 170 g) of chow mein noodles (The kind that look like the lo-mien noodles one often sees in a Chinese restaurant here in the USA. The ones I found were yellow. Do not use the kind that looks like it belongs in trail mix or sprinkled on top of a salad, that comes in a can. That’s not the kind that I used, and wouldn’t work for this recipe.)
  • 50 g (or 1 bundle or 1 cup) of Saifun Bean Threads (or other mung bean threads) (clear noodles and/or rice noodles may also work. These are optional, but recommended for a larger stir-fry. The servings might decrease without them. You could also use more chow mien noodles.)
  • 1 8 oz can (or 1/2-1 c) Bamboo Shoots, drained and rinsed
  • 1 Green Bell Pepper, rinsed, seeds removed, and chopped
  • 1/2 head Green Cabbage, rinsed and chopped
  • 1 onion, peeled and sliced (I don’t remember if I used onion, but I think I would. I use onion in a lot of my dishes, but for some reason, I couldn’t find it on the recipe.)
  • 1/2 cup of sliced carrots or baby carrots (I thought I used them, but didn’t see them on the recipe. Even if I didn’t use them, they’ll be a delicious addition to the stir fry. I can tell you that, based on other stir fries I’ve made.)
  • 1 cup broccoli (rinsed and chopped)
  • 4 cloves of garlic (peeled and minced)
  • 1 whole batch of sesame ginger sauce (recommended) or about 1/4 cup of your favorite stir-fry sauce.
  • olive oil (100% extra virgin, recommended)
  • salt

To Make:

  1. If vegetables have not already been prepped (rinsed, peeled, chopped, etc), prep vegetables.
  2. Bring a large pot of water to a boil, one that will hold at least 10  cups of water, fill with water about 3-4 of the way full. Add a pinch or two of salt, if desired.
  3. Add both chow mein noodles and mung bean threads to the water. Reduce heat to medium, and boil until the noodles are soft (may take about 5-10 minutes). Or you may soften the noodles according to any directions that may be on the package.
  4. Drain and rinse the noodles with cold water. Set them aside (preferably in a colander in or over a sink or over the pot) to drain.
  5. Pour oil in a frying pan and spread it around. It should be enough to cover the bottom of the frying pan. Place over medium heat to heat the oil.
  6. Add  bamboo shoots to the oil.
  7. Add the other vegetables (including garlic) and stir occasionally to keep from burning.
  8. When vegetables soften (may take about 10 minutes and you may need to gradually add more oil), add noodles and continue to cook, stirring occasionally. You may want to place a lid over the top of the vegetables, and later the noodles, to trap heat and moisture.
  9. Add sauce and mix well.
  10. Remove from heat (remember to turn off the stove), and serve, or store for a little over 1 week.

I don’t know the exact amount this made, but it filled a large metal bowl and I ate it all week. I think I ate about 1 cup of stir fry each day, so it may make about 7 or more cups.

I enjoyed this with sesame fried tofu on the side. Other forms of tofu may pair deliciously with this. 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

