Bread Pudding

This bread pudding recipe is based off of what I remember of my grandmother’s and my stepmother’s recipes. I don’t remember if either of them used apples. My stepmother said that she didn’t, but maybe my grandmother did. Even if she didn’t, I added them anyway. They are not vegetarian, let alone vegan, so their recipes call for eggs and milk, but even without the eggs, this bread pudding held together the way that bread pudding is supposed to.

Bread Pudding 2I made this with some leftover sesame kaiser rolls that I had brought back from church last Sabbath. The breads I have been bringing back do not last long outside of the freezer, so I either eat them up quick, or freeze them. It is as easy to make as stuffing, since it is made about the same way (just with different ingredients), and is another delicious way to get rid of leftover or extra bread before it goes bad. I don’t recommend using breads with certain herbs like caraway seeds, though, because it will have a funny taste (I have had bread pudding made with confetti bread before. Confetti bread would have been better in stuffing, but the pudding itself was mostly delicious.).

For those who like their bread pudding soggy, you might want to add more soy/almond or other vegan milk, and/or bake at 350 for about 30-40 minutes. I prefer my stuffing and bread puddings drier and not so soggy, though still moist in the center.

Ingredients:

  • 12 cups of bread, diced
  • 1 1/2 – 1 1/2 cup soy or almond milk (For those who have allergies, I think coconut milk would also be delicious in this pudding, and rice milk may work as a substitute.)
  • 1 cup apple(s), peeled and diced, small
  • 1/8 cup oil (canola, vegetable, or olive oil) (optional)
  • 1/8 cup vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/8 cup of sugar (plus a little extra)
  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • cinnamon or similar spice/herb (optional)
  • oil or non-stick cooking spray (for greasing pan) (May I recommend coconut oil?)

To Make:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, pour soy/almond milk over bread. Try to distribute it over all the bread, or as much as possible.
  3. Mix together until all or most of the bread is wet.
  4. Pour vanilla over bread and mix well.
  5. Pour oil (if using) over bread and mix well.
  6. Mix in apples and raisins. Mix well.
  7. Add a dash or two of cinnamon (or similar spice/herb) (If using).
  8. If there is still some of your bread that is dry, add a little more soy/almond milk and mix well. I didn’t need to do this.
  9. Grease a bread pan, baking pan or casserole dish. I used a round casserole dish that was about 8-9 inches in diameter (guesstimated) and about 4 inches deep (guesstimated), but it only filled the pan half way to the top, so you can probably use a smaller dish.
  10. Pour the mix into the casserole or baking pan.
  11. Pack the mixture down so that it spreads out completely and will stick together as it bakes. Do not pack it too tight. You just want to press down firmly, but gently.
  12. (Optional) Dust with sugar, or sprinkle more sugar on the top. (Optional)
  13. Bake at 425 for 30-45 minutes. (I used all 45 minutes, but just in case your oven is warmer, or you prefer a more gooey pudding, you can start with 30 and then check it.)
  14. When finished, the bread pudding should be a little crispy, golden brown on top, should hold together well, and should not be runny or gloppy/gooey (unless you like it that way). It should also be steaming, but should not be burned.
  15. Let cool for a few minutes before serving.

This keeps well in the fridge for at least a few days, possibly up to a week, depending also possibly on how old and what quality the bread was in before you baked the bread pudding.

If you have organic or raw sugar, i recommend using it instead of regular sugar, even instead of regular brown sugar. Regular white and/or brown cane sugar may not be vegan, because of the way it is filtered. Some regular white and/or brown sugar may be beet sugar, which (as far as I know) is most likely vegan. Right now, I’m using what’s on hand, but when I buy my own, I prefer organic or raw sugar.

Categories: puddings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Bread Pudding

  1. This is happening this weekend. Yum!

    I recently started my food/lifestyle blog and I would love your feedback! Would you mind taking a look when you get a chance? 🙂

  2. Jessie

    I would be happy to.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

