Grandma’s Applesauce

It’s apple season. Last Thursday evening, I brought back some more apples from my step grandparents’ bushels of fresh-picked apples. I didn’t have many, because I didn’t have much time (when I found the bushels) to look through them.

This recipe is based off of my grandmother’s how-to, with at least one or two minor adjustments, and that is to the amount of ingredients added, and I added a special, citrus ingredient.

I recommend using apples that are sweet, such as golden delicious, gayla, or fuji apples.

For those who want an all natural, raw and unsweetened applesauce, I recommend blending apples (diced very small) in the blender, with a little bit of water or 100% natural apple juice. I don’t know how this will work, but I’m just assuming that it will.

This is not a canning recipe. I don’t know if the applesauce can be canned, just like this, so the recipe isn’t very large. If you are having a lot of guests who you are making the applesauce for, though, you can simply multiply the recipe according to the number of servings you think you will need. This recipe is just something that can keep in the fridge for about a week or so…although it may last longer.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of apples, peeled and sliced or diced
  • 8 cups of water
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp lemon or orange juice (fresh squeezed) (optional-it is supposed to help reduce browning of the apples) (this is also my addition)

To Make: 

  1. Bring water and apples together to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat to medium, or between medium and high.
  3. Cook for about 10-15 minutes, or until apples are soft.
  4. Pour out all but about 1/4 a cup of the water.
  5. Mash apples, thoroughly, together with the water.
  6. Stir in lemon or orange juice (if using).
  7. Or you can blend all of the ingredients together in a blender for a smoother applesauce.
  8. Serve warm, or place in the refrigerator to chill.

 

Categories: condiments | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

