Creamy Mashed Potatoes

My daddy isn’t a vegetarian, much less a vegan, but he’s open to trying new things. Last night, I made dinner for me and him. He came before I mashed the potatoes, and mashed them for me. It’s actually more my recipe, but measurements are guesstimated, because I forgot to measure the potatoes, and am not sure how much almond milk my dad poured in. Usually he uses real milk and real butter or margarine, but this time he made it with almond milk and light smart balance (original smart balance has whey, so I don’t recommend that) for us. I hope he liked it at least as much as I did.

Ingredients:

  •  8-10 cups of potatoes, peeled and diced.
  • 1/2 cup vegan butter or margarine (Earth Balance or Organic Smart Balance is recommended.)
  • 1/2-1 cup almond or soy milk (Unsweetened is recommended, but all we had to work with was vanilla. It still worked, and I thought they were yummy.)
  • salt (Sea salt is recommended, but we used regular table salt.)

To Make:

  1. Fill a large pot with water and potatoes. The water should at least cover the potatoes.
  2. Add a pinch or two or about 1 tsp of salt.
  3. Boil between medium and high, or on medium, for about 20-30 minutes, or until the potatoes are well cooked (they will be very soft and break apart easily.
  4. Remove from heat. Turn off the stove. Pour out as much of the water as possible. I used the lid, which had a couple of holes in it to let out steam, but you can also use a colander or something simple. Make sure any potatoes that fall out into the colander (if using) are returned to the pan.
  5. Add the vegan butter or margarine and mash together with the potatoes as it melts.
  6. Add the soy or almond milk and continue mashing until potatoes are creamy and smooth.
  7. Mash in extra salt (to taste) if desired, or salt before eating.

This should feed about 5 people.

This is delicious as a side dish with just a little salt, or with cashew or another type of gravy. Corn and/or creamed corn (and/or corn chowder) and/or other chowder are also delicious toppings for mashed potatoes. I like to take cold, leftover mashed potatoes and fry it like hash browns, and it can be used to fill pirogues, too. There are more ways to eat mashed potatoes than just with stuffing and cranberry sauce. Yummy! Dad mashed them much better than I would have, too.

Categories: potatoes, roots&tubers | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

