Camper’s Home Fries

When I realized I wouldn’t be staying more than a few days in Canada, I went to the grocery store to get some Mr. Noodles. I will miss Mr. Noodles. They’re like Ramen, but vegan (at least, from what I’ve seen through Google search and looking at the ingredients, they’re vegan, or at least vegetarian).

Mr. Noodles were on sale. That was nice. I picked some out and also grabbed some veggie dogs and croissants. Having to wait for the ministry leader’s wife(and everyone else), because the ministry still offered to pay for the groceries for my remaining stay here, I scrolled through the isles, following Fri most of the time, staying close to her.

I don’t remember if I was following her or had broken away. I think I had broken away for a few minutes, when I entered into the canned food section. I saw white potatoes, and decided to get a can, and also a can of mushrooms. I had been wanting some for a while, anyway.

This morning I used them, and some other ingredients that I had laying around, to make some of what I’ll call “camper’s home fries.” They’re not quite as good as home fries made with fresh potatoes, but the canned potatoes and mushrooms last quite a while, unopened, on the shelf. They’d be ideal for people going camping (real camping, not in a camper), who doesn’t have a cooler to keep their food safe from vermin, or a fridge. Since they last so long, they can also be stored in a camper. So can oil. The other ingredients are actually optional when making home fries, but even if you’re going camping for the weekend and don’t have a cooler, most of these ingredients can sit out for a while.

Still, you don’t have to be camping to enjoy these home fries, and you can still follow the same recipe using fresh potatoes and mushrooms (about 1/2 cup of mushrooms and 1-2 potatoes). You can also season them differently, if you prefer other ways of seasoning your potatoes.

Ingredients:

  • 19 oz can (or around 19 oz) of  sliced or diced white potatoes (or whole, but then slice them). Drain and rinse.
  • 5 oz (or around 5 oz) can (or half of a 10 oz or around 10 oz can) of mushrooms. Drain and rinse.
  • 1/2 bell pepper, diced small
  • 1/2 onion, peeled and sliced
  • oil (100% extra virgin olive oil, recommended)
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • paprika
  • parsley
  • Italian seasoning
  • salt
  • 1-2 veggie dogs (optional) (The canned kind are best if you’re camping and if you can find them. They’re usually sold at Adventist Book Centers and some other health food stores, but regular packaged veggie dogs will also work. I used Yves tofu dogs.)

To Make: 

  1. Pour oil into a frying pan. Heat until warm.
  2. Add potatoes, mushrooms, onions, and bell pepper.
  3. Slice in veggie dogs, if using.
  4. Cook on medium heat until the potatoes begin to turn golden brown and the onions soften. Stir frequently.
  5. Dash on seasonings, except for salt. Apply a pinch or two during cooking (if any).
  6. Mix well. Continue cooking for about 5-10 minutes, stirring frequently.
  7. Salt (to taste).


Categories: potatoes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

