Berry Banana Salad

The first time I made the cranberry banana bread, I had burned it black. At Fri’s suggestion, I salvaged the insides of the bread, which were still good (and then, sadly, in my own ambition, destroyed the taste by making it into a “healthy” bread pudding, which would have been better with some other form of bread or muffins that weren’t already delicious). I had made the bread for potluck, and didn’t have much time or resources to make much else. Fri helped me out with an apple or two, and I put together a delicious fruit salad. There wasn’t much to it, so Fri suggested I added bananas, which really helped to stretch the salad, making it much bigger. It was put out with the desserts. Some of the children, didn’t take any, at least one said because it looked gross, but I saw some people (and tried myself) putting it on their cake. The guy who I’ll call “Li” told me to “make it again.” I’m sorry, Li, that I couldn’t be there to make the fruit salad again, but here’s the recipe, or what I remember of it. I’m sure it’s not completely accurate, but it doesn’t have to be. It’ll still turn out about the same.

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 bananas
  • 1 cup 100% berry flavored juice (wild berry, cherry, or something similar, preferably something natural with no added sugar. I used oasis when I made this in Canada.)
  • 6-10 kiwi, peeled and sliced
  • 1 cup cherries, pitted and sliced in half or into quarters (I used frozen cherries)
  • 1 cup strawberries, sliced or diced (I used frozen strawberries)
  • 1-2 apples, peeled, cored, and diced

To Make:

  1. Prepare all fruits according to directions above, under “ingredients.”
  2. Combine all fruits except bananas.
  3. Now, peel and slice in the bananas and mix well.
  4. Pour juice over fruit salad and mix well.
  5. Cover and let stand in the fridge for a couple hours (at least) to let the juice soak into the fruit.

 

Categories: fruit salads, salads | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

