Christmas Fruit Salad

I’m sure not all of these are Christmas fruits, and it’s not seasoned with Christmas seasonings, and I didn’t make it on Christmas. You can eat it in any season where the fruits are available. In the case of pomegranates and citrus though, I’m pretty sure, after having spent a winter (2012-2013) in south Texas, down by the Mexican border, that those are winter fruits and are a little less expensive in the winter. Anyway though, that’s not why I call it that…

I made this salad for dessert when Fri and I had the guys over for a gingerbread house and waffle pizza building party, which reminds me that I need to try to remember my recipe for that wheat waffle pizza crust. I probably forgot it. But it’s pretty simple, so hopefully I’ll be able to figure it out. If I do, I should post that one, too…no promises though.

Anyway, we decided to make something for dessert. I had a few kiwi and some pomegranate. The guy who I’ll call Li brought over a pear, and I think Fri or one of the others contributed an apple and maybe some of the citrus. Anyway, you’ve got the list of ingredients already, but here it is in more detail, although I don’t remember exactly how much of some I put in, this should do well.

Ingredients:

  • 2-4 kiwi, peeled and sliced
  • 1 large or 2 small apples, peeled, cored, and diced
  • 1 large or 2 small pears, peeled, cored, and diced
  • 2-3 mandarins, tangerines, cuties, or similar small citrus fruit
  • 1/2 pomegranate, or 1 small pomegranate

To Make:

  1. Prepare all ingredients as listed above under “ingredients”.
  2. Remove seeds from pomegranate. Seeds should be a bright red. If they are turning brown, dull, or soggy, they are rotting. Don’t use them in that case. Make sure to separate them as much from the rind (all white parts) and the outer peel as possible. Don’t wear anything you don’t want to stain. I suggest an apron.
  3. Combine all ingredients and mix them together in whatever bowl or pan you will serve them in.

 

Categories: fruit salads, salads | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

