Seasoned Crackers

I was just thinking of some foods that I made in the dorm at school. Thinking about frying tomatoes and leftover lunch meat got me thinking about what I did with some crackers that my friend sent me in a lovely care package. I liked to eat them with peanut butter. These were Carr’s whole wheat crackers, but this snack was inspired by my ste-grandmother (my stepmother’s mother) who had doctored up some saltines with different herbs and seasonings. They were delicious. You can use any type of cracker, but I recommend the healthiest choice you can find, preferably something whole wheat or whole grain.

Ingredients:

  • About 10 large crackers, or 2-3 cups of smaller crackers.
  • About 1/4 cup 100% extra virgin olive oil, You may need a little more or less, don’t be afraid to add more.
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • a pinch of rosemary (optional)
  • a pinch or two of salt

To Make:

  1. Place crackers in a bag or container that has a lid and is large enough to handle shaking.
  2. Dash seasonings into the oil, add the rosemary (if using) and salt. Stir.
  3. Pour mixture over crackers.
  4. Seal bag/container and shake well until oil and seasoning mix is thoroughly and evenly distributed over crackers.

 

These can be left out on the counter for a few days, but it’s more safe to keep them in the fridge. I really like this snack.

Categories: crackers and chips | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

