Vegetable Oat Patties + Bonus sandwich recipe!

Out of all the oat patties I’ve made, these turned out the best so far. Just a few days after I arrived in Canada, we had a student arriving, and Fri and I invited him and the other guy (who I’ll call Li) over for breakfast the morning after his arrival, to kind of welcome him. I had made a huge pot of oatmeal, and I think I was the only one to eat it, so I used the leftover oat meal and a couple vegetable bouillon cubes to make this recipe. I don’t remember exactly how much of each ingredient that I used, so I’ll guesstimate the ingredients. As far as I know, none of my recipes have completely, 100% accurate measurements anyway, but even when I repeat them without the measurements, they usually turn out well…I also don’t remember the cook time exactly, so keep an eye on them. It’s okay if they’re a little underdone, but you don’t want them overdone.

 

Ingredients:

  • 5-6 cups of fully cooked oatmeal, thick (not watery) (I don’t mean that it cooks for half an hour, but what I mean is cooked according to package directions) (To make that, I boiled 5 cups of oats in about 10-11 cups of water.)
  • 1/2-1 cup water
  • 3-4 vegetable bouillon cubes (or instead of the water and bouillon cubes, you can also add the bouillon cubes to the 10-11 cups of water before you put the oats in.)
  • garlic powder (optional)
  • onion powder (optional)
  • salt (optional)
  • oil or nonstick cooking spray (for greasing cookie sheet(s))

To Make:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Re-heating the oatmeal or keeping the oatmeal over medium heat, stir water into oatmeal so that you can stir in the vegetable bouillon cube. Add a little more water if necessary. You do not want to make the oatmeal soupy, but you want to be able to stir in the dissolving bouillon cubes.
  3. Stir in the bouillon cubes until they have dissolved fully. You should notice the color of the oats change.
  4. Dash on seasonings (if using).
  5. Grease cookie sheet(s).
  6. As oatmeal thickens again, stir frequently until thick.
  7. Scoop out by 1/4 or 1/2 cup-fulls and flatten onto cookie sheet(s).
  8. Bake for about 10-15 minutes. Flip, and bake another 10-15 minutes.

When done, the patties should be a golden brown on each side, and should hold together well. They may be a little fragile, but they should be like a patty, not like oatmeal that you’d eat out of a bowl. I don’t remember how many this made, I’m sure it was around 20, but it depends on the size of your scoop.

You can place these in a freezer bag or container to freeze them. They keep well in the freezer, and re-heat best when right out of the freezer. They can be microwaved, re-baked, grilled (not on a bar grill though, as they may fall through), or fried in a frying pan. I especially like to fry mine in some of grandma’s homemade hot/wing sauce. They replaced chicken for me. These patties don’t have to be used for sandwiches. They can be eaten with mashed potatoes, salad, pasta salad, etc. I even put mine on some Mr. Noodles once or twice after frying them in some of grandma’s sauce, if I remember correctly. Mr. Noodles are like ramen, but vegan (as far as I know) and can be found in Canada. I like these best as sandwiches, though, so, here’s a bonus sandwich recipe, which  makes 1 sandwich.

Ingredients:

  • 1 frozen vegetable oat patty
  • 1 Tbsp oil
  • 1/4 avocado, peeled and sliced
  • 3-5 thin slices of onion
  • 1 slice of tomato
  • 2 slices of bread

To Make:

  1. Pour oil into a small frying pan.
  2. Add oat patty and onion slices (if you desire them sauteed/fried, they can be added raw, instead).
  3. Cook on medium heat.
  4. Stir the onions often. Remove onions early, if necessary, to prevent from burning.
  5. Flip oat patty to caramelize other side. Oat patty should be heated through when finished.
  6. Spread or lay avocado slices on one slice of bread.
  7. Place oat patty on other slice of bread. Top with onions and tomato.
  8. Close sandwich with other slice of bread, avocado side down.

It’s delicious! Can be eaten with one slice of bread as an open faced sandwich, with a fork and knife, too.

Categories: burgers&meatballs, sandwiches | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Vegetable Oat Patties + Bonus sandwich recipe!

  1. Pingback: Basic Spaghetti Sauce Making Advice | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

