Chick Pea Salad

It’s like tuna salad, but vegan, and better!

A friend of mine used to make these and bring them to church on Sabbath, when she came down to our little country church from the city. She usually spread these on rye bread. I missed those delicious sandwiches so much that I suggested the recipe to the young cafeteria manager while I was at school, and we discussed it with the elder cafeteria manager. Eventually, she began making the salad, or had the salad made, but she put pickles in it. It’s okay with pickles, too.

Sadly, my friend passed away while I was away for my studies. She was also a friend with this friend who I am staying with. Today, she made this delicious salad, and I had some on mini-pitas. My friend asked if I had this recipe up. I had been thinking about putting it up, and admitted that I didn’t, but we both thought it would be helpful.

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of garbanzo beans/chick peas, about 15-18 oz (give or take)
  • 1/4 onion, peeled and chopped or diced, small
  • 1/2-1 celery stick, thoroughly rinsed, sliced
  • (optional) about 1-2 Tbsp vegan mayo (recommended: homemade, vinegar free mayo), vegan sour cream, or a little bit of oil and a sprinkle of salt.

To Make:

  1. Combine all ingredients.
  2. Mix well.

 

 

Categories: sandwich spreads, sandwiches | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

