Tissue Box Wall Art

Tissue Box Wall Decoration-CorrectedMy wall was looking a little bare in some places. A few months ago, I purchased a couple boxes of tissues from the dollar tree. The dollar tree, for those who aren’t familiar with it, is a store that sells everything for only $1 or less. Nothing higher, ever (at least not that I can remember). Many (though not all) of their products are also of good quality. Most items that I have picked up, from the labels I have read, are not made in china. Many items would be higher prices in other stores,  too. I like to shop there.

The tissues were good quality, nice and soft. The tissue boxes were also beautiful, decorated with butterflies. I bought more a couple weeks ago that don’t have butterflies, and plan to make wall art with them when I am finished. The boxes are too pretty to just throw away.

So, I cut up those boxes and put them on my wall. So far, I have only worked with square tissue boxes, but I plan to work with the rectangular boxes eventually, too (hopefully not too soon though, as I do not like having the sniffles, even though it will empty the box faster).

First, use up all the tissues.

Next, very carefully break down your tissue box (if possible). If you don’t know what I mean by “break down”, there may be flaps on the bottom of your tissue box that are glued in place. Carefully pull those apart, or carefully cut the edges with scissors or an x-acto knife or utility knife.  to flatten the box. Then, carefully cut each square or rectangle (basically, cut off each side of the box.

Now, it’s time to get creative. I’d recommend saving the top of the box, from which the tissues are dispensed, for another craft that I will share later.

Basically, cut up the box according to your liking. Cut out the pictures, cut shapes, or whatever you want to do.

I think it’s best to start with at least one large piece to work off of. But that’s subjective (although highly recommended).

Next, glue or tape all the pieces together to make a collage. Unless you want to decorate your wall with scattered individual pieces—in which case, have at it. You may even tape some pieces to the wall around that piece, to keep it secure (you might need to). You can even combine tissue boxes.

You can, but don’t have to use every part of the box (I didn’t.). You can discard what pieces you don’t use, or if they are large enough, you can save them for other crafts (recommended, for various reasons including, but not limited to: minimizing waste, saving you money, building your resources).

You can even build on to this wall art as you use up more tissues.

I started with one of the sides (or at least most of one of the sides) of one tissue box. Then I cut out the butterflies in different shapes and taped them to the side. Then, after finishing the tissues from the second box a few weeks later, I cut up that box and added to it. I like rolled tape (tape rolled so that the sticky part is out), for a few reasons. One reason is that it adds a nice “pop” effect to the layers.

In the image below, you can see how I arranged the butterfly tissue box pieces. I cut the pieces into rectangles and diamonds. The largest piece on the left  and at least one piece on the top is from the first box. The largest piece on the right and the diamond piece on the bottom left is from the second box. You can see the shadows to get an idea of the “pop” effect that the tape gives the art. I only used one piece of tape on some of the pieces, so it doesn’t take a lot. The big pieces took about two or three pieces of tape. If you use only two, try putting one in the upper left or right corner, and one in the bottom corner on the opposing side. If using three, put one in the middle.

If you try this craft, would you like to show me your art? I’d like to see it. Please and thank you?

Tissue Box Wall Decoration (2)

Categories: Crafts | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Tissue Box Wall Art

  1. Pingback: Tissue Box Picture Frame | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

