Cranberry Pumpkin Bread

pumpkincranberrybread (2)Filled 1 standard-sized loaf pan and filled 4 mini pie tins.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups (give or take a little) 100% whole grain oats (I used rolled oats.)
  • 3/4 tsp salt (I used sea salt.)
  • 1 Tbsp organic/aluminum-free baking powder (or a little less)
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 cup soy or almond milk (room temperature or slightly warm)
  • 3 tsp ground flax seeds/flax seed meal
  • 15 oz (around 1 1/2 cup) unsweetened pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup organic/raw sugar or maple syrup (I used Florida Crystals.)
  • 1/3 cup (organic, expeller pressed, 100% pure) coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp lemon juice (mine was fresh squeezed from a lemon)
  • 2-3 handfuls of pecans or walnuts (optional)
  • around 1/2 cup cranberries 
  • a little extra coconut oil (for greasing pans) (or you could use other oil or nonstick cooking spray)


To Make:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 415 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Grease pan(s). I used a loaf pan and 4 mini pie tins. You may have a smaller loaf pan or something else that you can use from the extra batter (or you may not have extra batter).
  3. In a blender, grind oats into a flour.
  4. In a mixing bowl, combine oat flour, salt, baking powder, and spices. I used a little less than a tablespoon of baking powder, because a tablespoon seemed like too much and I didn’t want the bread to have that bitter taste, and it didn’t. Mix well.
  5. Add pumpkin, coconut oil, and cranberries. Do not mix yet. My pumpkin puree was thick. The recipe that I used to start this one recommends that if your pumpkin puree is thin/watery (like applesauce), that you add more puree (3 Tbsp) and use only 3/4 cup of soy/almond milk.
  6. Combine soy/almond milk, lemon juice, flax seeds, sugar, and pecans/walnuts (if whole) in a blender and blend together on low until sugar is mixed in and walnuts/pecans are crushed. If walnuts/pecans are already crushed, you can just add them to the bowl and don’t have to blend them. You can also add the coconut oil to the blender to mix up with the other wet ingredients instead. My coconut oil clumped (I did not heat it up), but the bread still turned out moist and delicious.
  7. Pour into the bowl.
  8. Mix well into a batter.
  9. Pour into pan(s).
  10. Bake at 415 degrees for 20-30 minutes.
  11. Reduce heat to 395 and bake for another 25-40 minutes.
  12. Test with a knife. If the knife comes out clean, then your bread should be done. If it does not, then you may need to bake longer.

I think my baking time was a little longer, closer to an hour total (maybe an hour and around fifteen minutes or so).

I could have baked the bread even longer, but liked how it turned out. This bread came out moist, thick, and delicious (especially with some omega 3 Earth Balance spread on top). I found it to be surprisingly addicting. Not only did I eat some for breakfast, but also for supper (and I had some for dessert after lunch on the first day, too, though I may not have had it for supper that day—don’t remember). Really, like 3-4 slices a day. I did share some, though, and have gotten another can of pumpkin puree so that I can make some more. I think the next batch may be a pumpkin and apple bread. Yum! Delicious! And it’s healthy, too. High in fiber and wheat-free (meaning gluten free, except for what exposure the ingredients, such as the oats, may have with wheat gluten during processing),it also contains omega 3.

For reference, here is the recipe that I found while searching for a recipe to get this one started (since I did not want to risk starting with nothing more than my own imagination—as tempting as it may have been—trying to make bread with of oats).

 

Categories: cakes & muffins | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cranberry Pumpkin Bread

  1. Pingback: Sabbaths, Mothers’ Day, and the Sweetness of Spring/Summer | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

