Maple Walnut/Pecan Ice Cream

So, last week there was a moving-away sale in the building where I live. Many things were just a dollar (and lots of books were being given away for free). I purchased a little hand-churn ice cream maker…

Turns out, while it appeared to work at first, when I tried to make ice cream with it, the churn was crooked and did not work as well as I had hoped it would. Still, I managed to make this delicious ice cream for mother’s day by stirring and scraping with a wooden spoon and a knife (actually, two knives, because I dropped one). So, yes, you can hand-churn ice cream maker with a wooden spoon and a butter knife. The important part is the bowl that you put in the freezer, and that works plenty well enough.

This ice cream is best fresh. However, you can freeze it. I stored mine in a small Earth Balance container. It doesn’t scrape well, and I recommend putting it out to thaw before eating it. I don’t have an ice cream scooper, though, so I don’t know. Maybe it will scoop out well with an ice cream scooper, one that has anti-freeze properties.

My step dad used to open up a box of ice cream and cut it with a knife, so I tried that. This ice cream cuts just fine and is still delicious, though I wonder if it would be even better with a buttery taste. Maybe I’ll try that in the next batch, although I’m considering making a different flavor for my second batch of ice cream, perhaps a lemon flavor or peanut butter and jelly. Yum!

Makes at least 3-4 cups,  plus the pecans and maple syrup.

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 cups soy/almond/coconut milk (I used almond coconut blend.)
  • 1/2 cup 100% pure maple syrup
  • 1/3-1 cup crushed walnuts or pecans (How much would you like to use? I think I used 2/3 cups of pecans. Mine were raw. I shelled them myself and stored them in the freezer. Before using, I soaked them overnight in water with lemon juice. You can look up online to see how to properly soak pecans. It’s not necessary, but may be better for health, including healthy digestion.)
  • light sprinkle of salt (assuming that you are not using salted pecans) to enhance/bring out the flavor

To Make:

  1. Follow directions for proper use/preparation of your ice cream maker. For mine, I had to store the metal bowl in the freezer and took it out when I was ready to use it.
  2. Combine all ingredients. I added my salt later, after churning. If you add your salt in, start with a very light sprinkle, taste, and add more only if necessary.
  3. Mix a little. Taste, and adjust flavors if necessary. For example, if you find that your ice cream is too salty (which is why I recommend starting with a very light sprinkle.), you could try adding more syrup and more milk and more pecans to balance out the flavor. However, if you spilled the salt, and added way too much, you may want to not waste more ingredients and just scrap that batch. Try adding the salt by putting a tiny bit in your hand and then sprinkling it in, to avoid spilling. If you need more salt or more syrup, you can add a little more.
  4. Churn in an ice cream maker–follow directions as much as is possible for proper use of your machine—until your ice cream is of the desired thickness and texture.
  5. Serve/eat before it melts. Store leftovers in the freezer (a separate container recommended).

Warning: Do not heat your ice cream maker!

 

 

 

 

Categories: frozen treats | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

