Croissant Pizza Casserole

Ooooh yes!

I had such a delicious, filling meal today. Got all sweaty baking in this heat, but it was well worth it. It’s been a while since I’ve eaten something so tasty, I think. I wasn’t sure what to call this gooey, savory deliciousness at first. It’s like a cross between croissant casserole and pizza, I think. You can change up some of the ingredients, too, like using veggie pepperoni or sausage instead of veggie dogs, summer squash or eggplant instead of zucchini (or all of the above), sauce instead of diced tomatoes, top with cheese/vegan cheese, etc. Sorry…I didn’t count the croissants, and I used mini-ones. The purpose is to fill the pan, though…I think it took me at least five, maybe closer to seven…The croissants used were already baked, not the uncooked dough.

This filled 1 loaf pan. 

Ingredients:

  • croissants
  • 14 oz can of diced tomatoes (I used one seasoned with basil, garlic, and oregano)
  • 2 veggie dogs (I used Smart Dogs)
  • onion
  • zucchini
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • rosemary
  • other desired seasonings

To Make: 

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Grease pan. I used coconut oil.
  3. Place croissants in pan, forming a layer.
  4. Peel and slice garlic and place on top of croissants.
  5. Rinse and slice zucchini. Make a layer of zucchini.
  6. Peel and slice onion and make a layer of onion slices.
  7. Slice veggie dogs and add to the casserole.
  8. Pour diced tomatoes over the casserole.
  9. Top with seasonings (sprinkle or dash on).
  10. Bake at 425 for 30-45 minutes or until vegetables have softened. May take up to an hour. Croissants will be gooey, but may be crispy on the bottom when the casserole is finished.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

