Tomato Burgers


our picnic spot

I made these delicious burgers for a beautiful picnic at the lake with a friend on our shared day off. Used a big heart shaped cookie cutter and a little heart shaped cookie cutter to cut these burgers, except for one, which I just kind of left as a thin patty (it was leftover batter). In a combination of big and small burgers, I think this recipe yielded at least 8. 

picnic spread: bruschetta topping and heart-shaped burgersIngredients:

  • about 2 cups pecan or walnut meal (Ground up pecans or walnuts. I used pecan.)
  • about 1 cup oat flour (Grind up whole grain rolled or quick oats in a blender to make oat flour. I used quick oats.)
  • about 1 cup chick pea flour (or you can use two cups of either oat or chick pea flour)
  • 5 dashes of rosemary
  • 2-3 pinches of salt (I used sea salt.)
  • about 1-2 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast flakes (I suppose this can be optional, but you may need to substitute something else instead. I think it gives the burgers a more meaty, or slightly cheesy flavor.)
  • 3-4 Tbsp coconut or olive oil
  • 1  can (about 14.5 oz) of diced tomatoes with juice (I used basil, garlic, and oregano flavor, so you might want to grind up a clove of garlic or more garlic powder and add a pinch of basil and a pinch of oregano if you do not have this flavor. It turns out the kind I used contained sugar, so I think next time–if I get around to making these again–I will use a different kind, and maybe add some garlic, basil, and oregano–to taste, which is what I recommend doing.)
  • lemon

To Make:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit (I preheated mine to 425, and then lowered it to 400).
  2. Mix together pecan meal, oat flour, chick pea flour, rosemary, salt, and garlic powder.
  3. Mix in oil of choice.
  4. Blend diced tomatoes with juice (and garlic clove if you need/desire it) in a blender to make a sauce.
  5. Pour the sauce over the mix.
  6. Mix well. If the batter is too dry, and more like dough, you may need to add some more sauce (if you can make more or have more) or a little bit of water or soy/almond/coconut milk to moisten it. If it’s too wet and won’t hold shape, but flattens out, you may need to add more chick pea or oat flour.
  7. Grease cookie sheet(s) or baking pan(s).
  8. Shape patties.
  9. Bake at 400 for 20-45 minutes. Check after 20 minutes to make sure they are not burning.
  10. These should be firmer and dryer (though still at least a little moist inside) when finished, but not gooey on the inside. They should hold together.

These are especially yummy with home-made fresh tomato salad (except that I was out of usable basil). This would be cute in a bento. I also used these burgers in these delicious sandwiches.

My picnic plate: My friend made delicious cornbread, lentils, and salad. You can see the bruschetta topping on the cornbread, but not on the burger, because I added some to the burger after taking the photo. It was all so yummy. 

Categories: burgers&meatballs | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Tomato Burgers

  1. Pingback: Red Hummus Tomato Burger | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Basic Spaghetti Sauce Making Advice | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

