Sour Carrots

Last Wednesday, while out on a shopping trip, my friend (Sister V) and I spotted some homeless men/wanderers. We decided to get them some food at the store nearby. I tried to be quick, but also wanted to get the men something that would nourish and strengthen them, and not make them sick or simply fill their bellies. Small cans of carrots with pop-tops contained over 100% the daily necessary vitamin A, so I loaded six cans into the cart, along with other groceries.

Sister V brought up a good point, that they might need something to carry the groceries in. However, we were concerned that we would lose the men if we took much more time shopping, so we loaded the groceries into the car and drove back in the direction from which we came, looking for them.

Unfortunately, the men we had originally seen (or at least one of them) had moved on. There was still one man there though. I don’t know if he was one of the originals that we had seen, but he was in need.

I gave him at least a couple bags of groceries, food that would keep without a refrigerator, which was easy to open, and which did not need to be cooked (the carrots didn’t need to be cooked), and some plastic utensils. However, since it was only he and I had purchased for two, and he was walking with a cane, I only gave him 2 cans of carrots, not wanting to overload him. Seeing later that he did have a suitcase with a roller, and considering how much I had already given him, I wonder if I should have given him all six cans.

I thought that if we spotted anyone else in need, I’d hand them over, but we didn’t. So, I had four cans left over to myself.

I’ve moved from my apartment to a little room. Actually, I’m in transition to another place (not sure where, but the Lord knows, and that’s good enough for me). I don’t have a stove or a refrigerator here. Even if I had, I’d rather not cook on Sabbath. Also, I’ve made some drastic changes to my diet, anyway.

So, I had some leftover hummus, peanut butter, and crisp bread for Sabbath lunch, along with sour carrots. It’s easy to make. You might want to add salt, and maybe some garlic powder and/or onion powder, rosemary, or honey.

As you can imagine, it’s sour, but I like it.

Serves 1. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 small can of carrots (or about 1/2 cup of cooked carrots)
  • 1 lemon (or about 1-2 Tbsp lemon juice)

To Make: Drain and (optional) rinse carrots. Squeeze lemon juice onto carrots. Add honey and/or salt and/or other seasonings (if desired) and mix (optional).

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

