Waffle Tea

No, I’m not kidding.

water brewing on a waffle iron

While I won’t pretend that I’ve found some way to shape brewed tea into a waffle (although I suppose it might be possible with some form of waffle iron and some type of thickener or something to make it into a gel), I have discovered how to use a waffle iron to heat up water to brew tea.

Why did I bother?

Currently, a waffle iron is all I have to cook with in the little room in which I am staying. So, I’ve made sun tea, and I’ve made waffle tea.

To make waffle tea, you put a little bit of water in a pot or kettle. You need just enough for your cup of tea, and I don’t recommend much more (although I usually end up with at least a little left over), as the more water you have, the longer it will take to heat up. Given that it takes so long, this is best for individuals at tea-time, but you could possibly start earlier (like an hour or two earlier) to brew tea for a guest or two (or three, or more, though the more you have, the longer it will take). Open the waffle iron and put the pot on the iron. Then you can lean the lid of the waffle iron on the pot/kettle. I think this might help it to heat up faster, but it might not. It also helps to support the lid. Note that it’s best to have a smaller kettle/pot, and I recommend a metal one, not ceramic (as I don’t know what will happen if you try to use a ceramic pot.

Make sure you start your water at least 30 minutes to an hour before tea time. You can put the tea bag in the water while it’s heating up, and it might be brewed or almost brewed by the time the water is hot. I have done this on the stove, but not on the waffle iron (yet), because I didn’t want to wash the pot.

Turn your waffle iron on the highest heat possible (if you can adjust your heat). And wait for the water to heat up. It may not come to a boil, but it should start steaming and there should be at least a couple bubbles on the bottom of the pan. When you pour the water out, it should be hot to the touch (uncomfortable hot) in order to brew well. If you want to wait longer and your water will come to a boil (I don’t know if it will get hot enough, as I haven’t waited long enough), your tea may brew even more efficiently.

Anyway, at least you know if all you have is a waffle and a small pot or kettle, you can still brew some tea (if you have tea and water). Knowing that you can do that, you could make other warm drinks, and possibly heat up some water for some oats, too (preferably quick oats).

Make sure the water’s steaming as you pour it out. If you’re brewing after pouring (and not while the kettle heats up), give your tea at least five to ten minutes to brew. You may want to use two tea bags for stronger tea, too.

 

Categories: tea time | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

