Potato Pancakes

I also call them “potato patties”. These are different from the ones that I make from shredded potatoes, because they use leftover potatoes, mashed.

I learned from my grandma. Her potato pancakes used to be one of my favorite foods, and potato pancakes still is one of my favorites. She uses eggs in hers, but I’ve discovered that eggs aren’t necessary.

Here’s how you make them without eggs.

1 part mashed potatoes—You can use leftover mashed potatoes, or mash boiled or baked potatoes.

1 part flour (or half a part of flour)—I used to use white/refined flour, but now use oat flour, which I make by grinding up oats in a blender. You may like to try chick pea flour, too.

What do I mean  by parts? For example, let’s say you have 1 cup of mashed potatoes. I recommend 1/2-1 cup of ground up oats/flour. If you have 2 cups of mashed potatoes, then I recommend 1-2 cups of ground up oats/flour. Measurements don’t have to be exact.

seasonings/dressings: If your potatoes are already seasoned, you may want to taste them and decide if you need more seasonings. For plain potatoes, I recommend using some healthy  oil such as coconut oil or vegan butter such as Earth Balance. The last potato pancakes (“potato patties”) that I made were not made with oil, except for greasing the pan, but Earth Balance was spread on top of them, and they were still yummy, though drier (also drier because I baked them instead of frying). I also recommend some lemon or lime juice. Of course, potatoes and salt go together well, and there are a variety of herbs and seasonings to choose from: rosemary, basil, Italian seasoning, celery, dill, oregano, thyme, parsley, garlic, onion, and paprika, any of which I could recommend (though I don’t recommend combining dill with too many other herbs). You might like to try other herbs and seasonings, too. Season to taste.

You can also mix in some diced onion, corn, and/or other veggies, and some pecan or walnut meal and/or veggie meat, and/or vegan cheese or nutritional yeast flakes. I recommend sauteing the vegetables ahead of time in a little bit of water or oil, unless they are already cooked.

Mix everything together. Add a little water or vegan milk—such as almond or soy milk, if necessary to moisten the mixture.

Then you have the option of frying or baking them. I like them best fried, but they are also yummy baked, too (and probably healthier baked, unless you put a lot of oil or Earth balance in them already, or on the cookie sheet). For baking, preheat the oven to anywhere at or between 400-425 degrees Fahrenheit. Cook for 15-20 minutes on one side. Flip and cook another 15-20 minutes.

If you’re short on flour or oats, you can also just fry or bake the mashed potatoes into patties. They won’t hold together as well, and you might just end up with fried or baked mashed potatoes (I have made this many times), but it’s still yummy.

When I worked in the kitchen at the academy where I worked, I made these for breakfast one morning after we had mashed potatoes for lunch either the day, or not too many days before. There was at least one student who didn’t know what it was, but many liked the potato pancakes and came back for more. I think that was a happy and successful day for me in the kitchen.

You can also use sweet potatoes. I’ve had fried mashed potatoes and potato pancakes a variety of ways, and they usually turn out yummy.

 

 

Categories: pancakes, potatoes, roots&tubers | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

