Soy Mayo

This homemade, vinegar-free and egg-free mayo recipe was copied from a friend, with permission.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 c soy milk, unsweetened
  • 1 ½ t salt
  • 1 t onion powder
  • ¼ t garlic powder
  • 1 c canola oil (or oil of your choice, I use 1/2 olive oil)
  • 3 T lemon juice
  • *1 T or less Instant Clear gel (optional: if you want to use less oil or to make the mayo thicker)

To Make: Place milk, salt, onion powder, and garlic powder in a blender. Blend on high; slowly drizzle in oil with machine running. add lemon juice. Add the clear gel when all other ingredients are blended to see how much is needed. Refrigerate.

Makes 2 cups.

My friend’s tips: Drizzling the oil slowly is the secret to great Aioli. It should take about 1 minute to add the oil. Aioli will thicken as it chills.

My friend recommends West Soy unsweetened soymilk, which can be purchased at the Dollar Tree in her area, because it is organic and does not contain carrageenan. If you can, I encourage you to find organic, non GMO unsweetened soy milk without carrageenan, if this kind of find is possible. West Soy seems to be the best that my friend has found, and I can’t say that I’ve found anything better that has all of that, but if you do know of such a soy milk brand, please share below in the comments so that we can know about it. Thank you!

If using a different Soy milk that has thickeners you won’t need the Instant clear gel, but I don’t like the thicker soy milks so I added the gel to the recipe.

You can add different herbs and probably some mustard powder.

Just play with it and let me know what you think.

“Thank you” to my anonymous friend for sharing this recipe!

I am looking for more vegan, healthy, vinegar free condiments, even more ketchup, mustard, and mayo recipes. If you have any to share, please post a link below in the comments with a brief description, and I would like to look them over and may share the links on my blog (I will not copy and paste your recipes unless you go ahead and give me permission.) Thank you.

Categories: condiments | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Soy Mayo

  1. Pingback: Basic Homemade Condiments + Other Updates | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Ranch Seasoning | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Cucumber Salad | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

  4. Pingback: BLT | Miss Jessie's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

