Molasses Ginger Cookies

A couple years ago, I baked some molasses cookies for me and my daddy, based off of a recipe from a cookbook. Knowing myself well, I probably made some changes to the recipe, though I’m not sure what I did differently, because I don’t remember the details of that far back. What I do seem to remember is that the cookies seemed a little to soft after the baking time completed, so I kept them in for longer. When cool, they were very hard–hard to break, hard to cut, hard to chew. With some milk (vegan milk, for me), my dad and I ate them.

Then, at least a little closer to Christmas time, I made some yummy gingerbread cookies, which I was proud of and shared the recipe to. However, not-long-enough-ago I decided to give up (by God’s grace, with His help) knowingly eating baking powder and baking soda (Aluminum, chemicals, it saps the nutrients from the body, [from what I heard] even if you use a brand without aluminum. I need to do more research on it, and you should, too.) and I also decided to acknowledge that pepper (black pepper, hot pepper) and cinnamon (though I may still use them for medicinal purposes, at least external, but am undecided) were not safe either and take (by God’s grace) necessary steps toward improvement in diet. Where am I now? Still a work in progress, but doing much better, by God’s grace.

Still, t’is the season for molasses cookies and ginger cookies, and I’d been wanting some. I can make biscuits well, and I’ve learned more than a few things over the years, including a few things about baking, and decided to apply some of those things this time around in a cookie recipe.

First, I came up with an idea. Then, I did some searching for recipes. Not finding a satisfying one using the ingredients I planned to use while also excluding the ingredients I know are harmful, I decided on another experiment and, while mixing up the dough, sliced up the other half of the apple that I had used.

How did they turn out? Out of two people in the house, including me, I’m the only one who likes them—but I do like them, or I wouldn’t be sharing the recipe here. Anyway, more for me, and I’m down to the last cookie today. If you like healthy, wheat-free, vegan foods and molasses and/or ginger cookies, perhaps you might like them, too. I might have baked the cookies for too long. At least some, though I think not all, did get burnt around the edges. You may want to take your cookies out sooner. Consequentially, some of them were hard, or hard around the edges. Most of these were mostly chewy, though, not as hard as the last ones, so the texture was much, much better. They didn’t form nicely, but I don’t mind how they looked. Maybe with some cookie cutters to shape yours, they’ll turn out better shaped. You’ll want your dough to be thick enough to hold the shape of the cookie cutter, put the cookie cutter on the cookie sheet, and place the dough inside. Cookie cutters are usually thick, though, and so you should probably spread the cookies inside the cutters so that they are thin and smoother, and not fill up the cookie cutter, then carefully remove the cookie cutter to keep the shape. If it seems to melt into a puddle, your dough is too thin.

Now, this was another experiment, and while I started off measuring, by the end I was pretty much just dumping and pouring again. So, here’s what I recommend: Start with the smaller measurements, or a little smaller if you’re not sure or it seems too much. Mix well, taste, and add more if needed.

So, here’s what I’ve gotten written down for

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 2/3-2 cups of oats
  • 1 apple, peeled and cored
  • 1/8-1/4 cup water
  • 1-2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 heaping Tbsp flax seeds
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 4-6 tsp ground cardamon
  • 4 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 6 Tbsp blackstrap molasses

To Make:

  1. Grind sunflower seeds and oats into a flour/meal.
  2. Mix the flour/meal with salt, ginger, and cardamom.
  3. Puree 1/2 apple, coconut oil, and flax seeds in a blender. Let sit about 2-5 minutes (not sure if I did this, but recommend it).
  4. While waiting, slice/dice other half of the apple into small pieces.
  5. Pour mixture into the dry mix.
  6. Add molasses and maple syrup and mix well to form a dough. If dough is too wet, add more oats (and sprinkle some salt onto the oats before mixing in).
  7. Taste, and adjust ingredients as needed. (Note: measurements are guesstimated after I had already made adjustments, so you might not need to, but maybe you will.) The ginger may be spicy/strong at least until cooked, and it may taste doughy. Test to see if you can taste the spices, and if it’s sweet enough and/or may need more salt.
  8. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.
  9. Grease cookie sheet(s). I used coconut oil.
  10. Scoop out cookies and shape them onto the cookie sheet(s). If your cookies won’t shape, or you don’t have the patience, simply spoon them onto the cookie sheet(s) and flatten them with a fork or something else (if desired). A tip from what I learned from my grandmother, which I wish I had thought of when I made these (then they might have been pretty enough for photographs): try rolling them into a ball and then flattening them with the bottom of a glass/cup. The dough might be too sticky and thin, though, but you could probably flatten the lumps with a cup, too.
  11. Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 15-25 minutes. Check after 15, and bake longer if needed or desired (I’d rather have mine baked a little longer to be sure that they are cooked, and not all burned, if I remember correctly.).
  12. Remove from oven and let cool.

This made a baker’s dozen for us. Yield may vary depending on size and shapes of your cookies. Store in the fridge for up to a week, or freeze.

You may also try these without the ginger and/or cardamom, or with raisins or dried cranberries instead of or along with the apples.

Categories: cookies and no-bakes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

