Fried Sweet Potato & Tofu

Today’s lunch was very simple. In addition to the sweet potato and tofu, I had some leftover crackers from the trip. The crackers were homemade from a caring lady. Did I eat something else? I’m not sure. Maybe I had another banana? Maybe not. I had papaya and oranges (tangerines) and long-an (one of my favorite fruits) for supper today. It was yummy and satisfying and I should hopefully sleep well tonight. I have been sleeping very well here.

I used cumin, which I had purchased at a health food store in Chaing Mai. I should have looked more closely. I thought it was coriander. Maybe what I originally grabbed was, but no, this is cumin. Hm…maybe it was cumin the whole time. Does it really matter? So I guess you can put either cumin or coriander in it, or leave them both out. I won’t include it in the ingredient’s list.

Ingredients:

  • 1 small white sweet potato (or if you’re really hungry/want a lot, you can use two or three, or a large one) You can use other kinds of sweet potato if you want to.
  • 1 block of tofu (I used a small block from the market. I think it’s maybe about 12 oz or as little as 10. I don’t really know. Try anywhere from 10-16 oz, depending on how hungry you are or what’s available. You can use less or more, anyway. The measurements aren’t as important as the ingredients.)
  • about 1/2-1 Tbsp coconut oil (can use a little more or less)
  • salt (to taste)

To Make: It’s very simple. Heat up oil in the wok. Scrub and peel sweet potato. Slice sweet potato and dice tofu and add them both to the wok. If your sweet potato is big/fat, then slice or dice it into smaller pieces. If it’s small, go ahead and slice it like a carrot. Fry sweet potato and tofu, stirring often and adding a little more oil if necessary, for about 5-10 minutes or until sweet potatoes are soft to chew, though they may get crispy on the outside. Sprinkle or grind on some salt, to taste (I brought some himilayan pink salt, which was given to me by the lady who I stayed with before I left the US, and that salt is what I used. It looks like they have some here, too, at the health food store, or something similar.).

 

The tofu I used this time had a yellow coloring on the outside, from turmeric, which means it was non-GMO, or so I have been told. So, if shopping in Thailand, keep in mind that not all tofu is vegan (they have an egg tofu, or tofu made with egg(s), and also that non-GMO tofu has a yellow coloring on the outside, not to be mistaken for the somewhat creamy yellowish off-white color of the egg tofu).

Categories: roots&tubers, tofu | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

