Banana Peanut Spread

I definitely recommend that you try this one. I’ve been desiring, if not craving peanut butter for at least a few weeks now, but not willing to get the tiny jars of the unhealthy stuff from Tesco. I was disappointed to find out that these plastic containers (at Tesco) of something that looked like peanut butter at first glance was actually palm sugar. I have not yet purchased any peanut butter from the shop/people near the academy who are selling it nor the man who I heard made healthy peanut butter, but I did buy some peanuts on my last trip to Tesco, and some coconut milk and honey from the pharmacy, and some bread from the academy bakery, so I whipped up this treat. Believe it or not, it’s better straight out of the container than it is on bread. I thought of saving some for tomorrow, but ate it all for supper (and I had some bread, too).

Ingredients:

  • about 1/4-1/2 cup peanuts
  • two tiny bananas, ripe
  • about 1/4-1/2 cup coconut milk (or other vegan milk, though the coconut milk gives it a distinct flavor) (I used the kind from the carton. I think it doesn’t have any preservatives.)
  • 1 Tbsp honey (optional)

To Make:

  1. Crush peanuts as fine as possible. I used a mortar and pestle. Pour/scrape the crushed peanuts into a bowl.
  2. Peel and mash bananas well. I also washed the outside of the bananas before peeling, and this I recommend here in Thailand.
  3. Mix all ingredients together.

Store in the refrigerator. Eat within 3 days (Because if the bananas don’t spoil first, which they may not spoil that fast, the coconut milk probably will if you’re using the kind from the carton, maybe fresh kind too, without preservatives, it doesn’t keep more than a few days. This I learned the hard way when I ate spoiled coconut milk after it was opened in the fridge about (but I think less than) a week. It had curdled, but I prayed, took some activated charcoal to be safe, and did not get sick (Thanks and glory and praises to God for His protection from sicknesses, even if there was nothing to worry about in the coconut milk, which I do not know, for He protects us from far more than we realize.).

Categories: condiments | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

