Cranberry Apple Cobbler

My uncle posted someone’s recipe for pineapple cream cheese cobbler on my grandma’s facebook page. It looked delicious and tempting, and an idea came to me while I was thinking about it. Could cobbler be made in a rice cooker? I wouldn’t want to use baking powder, so how about trying to make a pie in a rice cooker? A pie with only a top crust. That would be like a cobbler, right? So, I commented on the post, messaged my grandmother, and was soon up and slicing vegetables. What did I get? An unleavened cobbler. I tasted some of it and almost ate a scoop, but decided to wait until tomorrow for breakfast. Perhaps it will be best warm? It’s still in the rice cooker, so I can warm it up, but though it’s delicious warm, I think I’ll taste it cold first. Mmmm…already looking forward to breakfast.

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 apples, peeled, core and seeds removed, and sliced (I used 2 and 1/2, but recommend 3. These were fairly big apples (though not giant), so if you are using smaller apples, you may need to use 5-6, depending on the size. Try for at least 3-4 cups of sliced apples if you are not sure. In this case, it may be better to have more than less, especially if you are sharing. Please don’t eat this all by yourself in one sitting. That’s not healthy!)
  • 1 small pineapple or 1/2 large pineapple, peeled, spikes removed, and cut into chunks (If you are not sure, try for 1-2 cups of chunked pineapple. You can do little chunks, big-ish chunks, medium chunks, whatever you prefer. You can also leave this out, if preferred.)
  • 1/2-1 cup of cranberries (I used dried cranberries.)
  • 1 1/2-2 cups of cranberry juice (If you can find 100% juice, it doesn’t have to be 100% cranberry, but 100% juice with nothing else added but juice, though it can be juice from different fruits. If you cannot find this for cranberry, may I suggest trying pineapple juice? I used Tipco brand, a 100% juice blend of  grape, apple, and cranberry
  • 2-4 Tbsp honey (Optional, for sweetness.)
  • A little bit of water (Maybe 2 Tbsp-1/4 cup, may be necessary. I added this to the apple first to help it blend, before adding the coconut milk, but you might not need to, and if I had added the coconut milk first, I might not have, either.)
  • 250 ml or about 1 cup of coconut milk (I used the kind in a box/carton with no preservatives, only coconut milk.)
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (I used coarsely ground flour. If you can find something better and healthier, or as good as and healthier than wheat flour, do try it and please let me know how it turns out. If you prefer to use only oat flour/oats ground in a blender into a flour, that should be fine, too.)
  • 1/2 cup sticky flour (I used white flour, because that’s all I have for sticky flour, but I do recommend oat flour/oats ground in a blender into a flour.)
  • a pinch or two of salt

To Make:

  1. Wash and prepare fruit.
  2. Put fruit into the pot except for 1/2 of an apple.
  3. Pour juice over fruit.
  4. Add dried fruit (if you did not already assume that it was supposed to go into the pot with the other fruit).
  5. Pour 1-2 Tbsp of honey (optional for extra sweetness, especially if you have sour or bland apples, though I do recommend sweet apples if you have access to them) over the fruit.
  6. Mix.
  7. Start to warm up the rice cooker.
  8. Mix flour and salt together. (Should I confess that I didn’t measure the salt and just dumped it in? Just did, but I do recommend measuring it by a few sprinkles, or a pinch or two, or 1/4-1/2 tsp, and no more than that.)
  9. Blend the remaining 1/2 apple with the coconut milk and 1-2 Tbsp of honey (optional, for sweetness).
  10. Pour the blended mixture over the flour mixture.
  11. Mix well into a batter. Add a little more water, if necessary, to form a batter. Try to go for a medium-thick batter, not a thin one. Add more flour, if needed, if the batter is too thin even after a thorough mixing.
  12. Pour batter over the fruit mixture.
  13. Cook in the rice cooker for about 30-60 minutes or until the rice cooker quits. Check if the rice cooker quits before 60 minutes and try to cook it longer, if possible.

If I were to bake this in an oven, I might try looking up what the usual temperature and time for cobbler is, and try cooking it according to those temperature and time directions, or might try anything between 375 and 425 for 30-60 minutes, but maybe it will burn. Hm…any thoughts on this?

The resulting texture? You might be wondering, so just in case: It’s gummy, as opposed to the light and fluffy you might be used to (and might prefer) in leavened cobblers, but it’s healthier without the baking powder/baking soda, and it tastes good. You could possibly compare the texture to the Thai desserts made with sticky rice flour, but different, because it’s wheat and not the same thing. The texture may be different using oats, too. You could also potentially just add the oats without grinding them into a flour, to make a type of oatmeal. Hm…any thoughts on this? Has anyone tried such a thing? Maybe I’ll try another cobbler after I get some more oats. Yum.

Categories: cobblers&crisps | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

