Heavy Mousse

I wasn’t sure what to eat for supper today, or if I should eat at all, but I knew I wanted something that would aid my digestive system. After considering my options, I decided to make a smoothie, but  my smoothie came out as a heavy mousse instead. I didn’t want the smoothie to be cold anyway, and this tasted delicious. I ate it with a spoon. I think it would make a decent spread also (like fig spread, as it contains a few of the same ingredients), for toast, pancakes, waffles, or other bread-like foods. Hm…now that I think about it, perhaps I should try making something like a vegan cream cheese to go on that bagel…

Ingredients:

  • 3-5 small bananas (these are the fat finger sized bananas, but you can use other bananas, too. For bigger bananas, use one or two (up to 6 inches), less than one for larger bananas)
  • about 4-5 dates
  • about 6-8 dried figs
  • 1-2 Tbsp peanut butter
  • 2-3 Tbsp whole flax seeds (I used golden flax seeds.), or you can use ground flax seeds
  • 150 ml (about 1 cup) of coconut milk (I used coconut milk that was at room temperature.)

To Make: Remove the stems from the figs and the pits from the dates (if they are not already pitted). Blend all into a blender until it forms a heavy cream and the other ingredients are well ground. The mixture may stop, and should at least significantly slow down movement (or appear to slow down or stop) in the blender when it is finished.

I was just thinking that this and/or fig spread would also be good on top of a pie, or in a cream pie. Yum.

It did the job, too. 

Categories: puddings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

