Pad Mii

Pronounced (pad [or maybe pod/pahd] mee [me, as in me, myself and I, but with a slightly longer carrying of the “e”). It’s similar to pad Thai, but this one I made in the cafeteria and is lacking peanuts, tamarind and some the kind of noodle that would make it pad Thai.

img_20161207_113547Ingredients: 

  • thin rice noodles
  • tofu
  • mung bean sprouts
  • fresh green onions
  • fresh garlic cloves
  • soy sauce, liquid aminos, or salt
  • fresh lime juice
  • oil
  • water

For this, I diced the tofu into small cubes, sliced the green onion and minced the garlic (not in that order). You can mince garlic with a big knife by laying the broad end of the knife over the garlic cloves and pressing down hard on the knife to crush the garlic, and then chopping it.

The teacher already had the wok prepared for me, and poured in some oil. She also might have soaked the noodles or dipped them in hot water, but they were still al-dente, flexible, but not fully cooked.

As the oil was heating, I added the garlic and tofu. Then, after it fried for a few seconds to maybe about a minute or less, added the onions, and after that the bean sprouts. I had to stir constantly as much as possible as I dripped in soy sauce. You can use about a teaspoon or two of soy sauce, or a tablespoon or two (or liquid aminos), taste and add more if needed. I couldn’t really taste the sauce, and since soy sauce seems to make me ill or at least instigate when I am already sick, I shouldn’t have added it at all, but should have used a pinch or two of salt.

As the tofu begins to brown and the beans soften, add the noodles and a little bit of water (about 1/4 of a cup). Stir constantly.

When the noodles have softened and your pad mii is ready, put it on a plate and pour the lime juice on top. I squeezed about half of a lime onto mine.

Enjoy ^_^.

Categories: pasta&noodles | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

