Noodles with Eggplant and Tomato

Ingredients:

  • Noodles (I used Shogun brand, which is–as far as I can tell, not available in America, but there is a similar noodle called “Chinese noodle” which looks like instant ramen (the kind available in the US, or what the Thai would call Mama, except that it has fewer ingredients and does not contain MSG.)
  • Eggplant
  • Tomatoes
  • Onion(s)
    • (I used small onions that were red on the outside and white on the inside, but recommend whatever onion you like best. If you like all onions, may I recommend red onions or sweet onions? If you don’t like onions, then you don’t have to use them.)
  • cooking sauce (or soy sauce/liquid aminos)
  • sweet chili sauce or a sweet and spicy sauce
    • (Optional, but it definitely affects the flavor. If you choose not to use this, but I would also like to recommend as a healthier alternative some salt, garlic powder and a little bit of olive oil if you can use it, some herbs such as oregano might also be nice, and a little bit of chili powder or red pepper flakes to give it a bit of a kick, if you like spicy.)
  • Water

When I first started to make this, I think I was just going to have noodles and sauce without vegetables, but those vegetables seemed to be calling me as I reminded myself of my new year’s resolution to eat more vegetables (after going astray into a very unhealthy diet). I boiled some water, added the noodles, turned off the heat and let the noodles set until they were soft enough. Then I removed them from the water and set them aside.

I didn’t actually cook the onion, but washed it, peeled it, and sliced it very thin over the noodles, then poured some sauce over the noodles.

Then I washed the eggplant and tomatoes (if you don’t know how much, try using at least 50% tomatoes and you can use 50% eggplant, but if you like it more tomato-y, try 60-75% tomatoes and 40-25% eggplant). Then I sliced them and boiled them in a little bit of water, without the lid, until they turned soft and the water evaporated. When the water started to evaporate, I needed to stir to keep the vegetables from burning. While they were still hot, I poured them over the noodles. This helped to cook the onion. Alternatively, you can just add the onion to the pot. If you’re not using sauce, but want to make this healthier, add a pinch of salt, some garlic powder and some herbs (such as oregano) to the pot with the vegetables before you cook them.

I added some sauce and think that I mixed it together before eating, after taking the photo. If you use the healthier option and don’t use the sauce, but would like a little bit of a sour and fresh taste, I recommend squeezing some fresh lemon juice onto your noodles before eating.

It’s delicious ^_^.

Note: If you don’t know how much seasoning/sauce to use, start with very little, and then taste and add a little bit more if you need more flavor. 

 

Categories: pasta&noodles | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

