Noodles with Spicy Soy Fish

มีคำแปลภาษาไทยนะค่ะ

I don’t know what to call this. I  normally don’t like fishy food, but here I have acquired a growing appetite for seaweed and vegetarian fish. I’ve been sick lately, but olive oil seems to help. Sometimes I eat mostly bread and olive oil for some meals, but even though this is spicy and contains sugar (both items that I thought I needed to avoid, and should definitely limit), I felt pretty good after eating it, so I made it again. (Of course, my friends have been praying for me, too, so I must thank God for the healing.)

Here’s how I made this. The first time I only used half a can of soy fish, but the second time used a full can. It’s pretty easy to make. I bought the soy fish at Tesco Lotus in downtown Phayao, Thailand. I don’t know where you’d find something similar, but you can use another type of suitable vegetarian fish and a pinch of chili pepper if you don’t have this nor something like it. Or maybe this is a Thailand exclusive?

img_20170126_180806Wash, peel and slice a carrot into very thin slices. Add to a pot.

img_20170126_180915

img_20170126_181123Add at least half a can of soy fish with chili (or figure out something similar that you can use). You can use the full can, especially if you like spicy. Then add a little water (maybe about 1/4 of a cup).

Boil until the carrots begin to soften.

img_20170126_181414 Then add tomato juice. I used the whole box. This one is a combination of red and yellow tomatoes, but regular red tomato juice is also suitable.

I recommend squeezing from the top of the box to the bottom, and using both hands as you get to the bottom. Point the straw away from you and be careful, as spatters might stain your clothes.

img_20170126_181431

img_20170126_181256When the tomato juice begins to boil, add seaweed (about half the bag).

Boil, stirring occasionally, until the carrots are soft. Then add noodles. I used pandan colored shogun noodles (which do not contain msg). Other similar noodles include Mama (Thailand), instant Ramen (U.S.A) or the healthier version that can sometimes be found in the oriental section of some grocery stores (sometimes called “Chinese noodles”, I think) or Mr. Noodles (Canada). Be wary of MSG. I don’t recommend noodles with MSG.

img_20170126_182519

I added olive oil because I’ve been sick, and oil seems to help in the healing process. Since it seems my diet has been making me sick, and this is spicy, I added some (a lot) so that I wouldn’t get sick.

I  suppose olive oil is optional. If you can afford it, I do recommend at least a little bit. It does something nice to the flavor of the food.

img_20170126_182242Then add dried (instant) noodles.  I like the Shogun brand, because they  do not contain MSG.

img_20170126_182318

Boil for about 1 or 2 minute(s) until you can separate the noodles with a fork. Make sure all the noodles are covered with the soup, then turn off the heat.

Put the lid on the pot (close the pot) and wait 3-5 minutes or until the noodles become soft and absorb most of the soup

img_20170126_183147

Enjoy.

img_20170126_183451

 

 

Categories: pasta&noodles | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Noodles with Spicy Soy Fish

  1. Pingback: ก๋วยเตี๋ยวใส่เต้าหู้ปลารสเผ็ด | Sister Jessie's Cooking

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

