Golden Vegetable Curry

I made this for me and a friend. We both enjoyed it, had two plates each (with rice) on the first evening that it was made, and then ate the leftovers for breakfast. It’s definitely best hot and fresh, and not too spicy. The amount of vegetables is just what I used. You can add more or less, if you’d like. I recommend adding an onion or two (if small) also, and the broccoli is definitely optional. It tasted better than I thought it would, but I only added it because a teacher gave me the broccoli and I needed to use it before it spoiled. Broccoli is healthy and really did go well in this curry, so you might like to try it, too.

Ingredients:

  • potatoes (x3)
  • carrots (x1 1/2-2 fat carrots)
  • broccoli flourets (about 1-2 cups)
  • 1 bell pepper (I used red.)
  • water
  • coconut milk (about 200-250 ml. Around 1 cup, give or take a little.)
  • curry paste (I used biyarani rice curry paste, you can use that if you have it, or golden curry paste or another yellow curry paste. I recommend looking for curry that includes cumin and has very little, if any chili. Turmeric is a must, and garlic and galangal also.
  • I also added extra virgin olive oil. This is optional, but I do recommend at least a little oil (at least 1-2 Tbsp) as it does something nice to the flavor.

To  Make:

  1. Wash vegetables. Peel potatoes and carrots and cut them into big chunks. Break apart broccoli flourets (you can also slice and use the stems, but I broke them off of the stems for this recipe) into small pieces, and remove the seeds from your pepper and slice it into big or small pieces. Add vegetables to a pot.
  2. Add water to the pot until the water covers all the vegetables.
  3. Bring the water to a boil and continue boiling with the pot covered/closed for about 30 minutes or until vegetables soften.
  4. Remove lid (or move lid) to let out some of the steam (evaporating water). You might like to lose an inch or two of water, but you don’t need to lose it all. I still had a lot of water in the pot when I went to the next step.
  5. Add the coconut milk and curry paste. Start with about 1 tablespoon of curry paste. Mix well, taste an add more if needed. I used about half the package of curry paste.
  6. Add a little oil (about 1-2 Tbsp).
  7. Stir.
  8. Continue cooking (preferably uncovered), stirring often, for another 5 minutes.
  9. Remove from the heat. Please wait about 15 minutes for the curry to cool a little bit before eating (you don’t want it to burn your tongue, do you?), but you do not need to wait too long (because you probably don’t want it cold, either).

Enjoy ^_^

Categories: soups&stews | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

